Harrison James Wins Rolex Dancers First Award

24 septembre 2019... Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada announced today that Principal Dancer Harrison James is the recipient of the 2019 Rolex Dancers First Award. The award was presented by Ms. Kain and Maxim Lamarre, President and CEO, Rolex Canada Ltd., at a dinner and presentation in Toronto last night.

The Rolex Dancers First Award recognizes outstanding performances in the previous season and is juried by a committee of members of the National Ballet’s Artistic Staff. Mr. James was recognized for the dramatic power, impeccable technique, intense musicality and artistic authenticity in his outstanding performances as Alexei Vronsky in Anna Karenina, Oberon in The Dream and the title role in Apollo. At the ceremony, Mr. James was presented with a specially engraved Rolex watch.

Harrison James' Biography

Mr. James will appear onstage with the National Ballet in Giselle which opens the National Ballet’s 2019/20 season in Toronto, 6 au 10 novembre 2019.

More Information About Giselle

The Dancers First programme supports all the dancers of the National Ballet with funds for artistic development and health and wellness resources. Currently, there are 31 dancers generously sponsored through Dancers First.

Since its inception, Rolex has encouraged individual excellence and the pursuit of perfection. In keeping with this long tradition, Rolex continues to contribute to the arts world through its various sponsorship activities. Rolex Canada has generously sponsored the Rolex Dancers First Award since 2010.

– 30 –

The Rolex Dancers First Award is generously sponsored by Rolex Canada Ltd.

Harrison James is sponsored through Dancers First by Lucy White.

BMO Financial Group presents the 2019/20 Season.

Giselle was produced as a memorial to the late William P. Walker and was made possible through the courtesy of many generous friends of the National Ballet.

Lead philanthropic support for Anna Karenina is generously provided by The Walter Carsen New Creations Fund, Richard M. Ivey, C.C., Rosamond Ivey, Margaret Anne Fountain, C.M. and David Glenn Fountain, C.M. and Tim & Frances Price, with additional support from The Volunteer Committee of The National Ballet of Canada, The Producers’ Circle and Warren Sorensen in memory of Gregory Williams.

Le Cercle des producteurs : Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin & Roger Garland C.M., Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Judith & Robert Lawrie, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Lynda & Jonas Prince, Susan Scace & Arthur Scace, C.M., Q.C., Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan and Noreen Taylor, C.M. & David Staines, C.M., O.Ont.

Apollo is a gift from The Volunteer Committee, The National Ballet of Canada.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada – Department of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism; and the Government of Ontario through The Honourable Lisa MacLeod, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Contact Information


Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software